IPL Purple Cap Winners List: From 2008 to 2024- All You Need to Know

IPL Purple Cap Winners List: The Purple Cap in the Indian Premier League was introduced back in 2008 along with the Orange Cap. The IPL Purple Cap is awarded to the players who have taken the maximum number of wickets throughout the season. The Purple Cap acts a biggest honor for the any bowler, as it shows his consistent bowling performance and wicket-taking abilities. In this article we bring to you the IPL Purple Cap List from the first season till 2023 along with the number of wickets they have taken in the season.

IPL Purple Cap Winners List
IPL Purple Cap Winners List

Also Read,

IPL Orange Cap Winners From 2008-2024

What is Purple Cap in IPL?

IPL Purple Cap Winners List
IPL Purple Cap Winners List (Credit- CricReads)

Before going further let us first understand the concept of IPL Purple Cap. In the Indian Premier League the Purple Cap in IPL is provided to the players who have taken most number of wickets. But there is a catch, the purple cap is awarded to various players throughout the season. The reason behind this is that the it is not possible to award only a single player the Purple Cap because throughout the season the number of wickets of every player will keep on over lapping each other.

The only player whose wickets are highest at the end of the season is awarded the final purple cap. Like the IPL Purple Cap 2023 Winner was Mohammad Shami. He picked 28 wickets in 16 matches. The IPL Purple Cap 2024 Winner will be decided after the IPL Final Match 2024.

IPL Purple Cap Winners List

The 2008 IPL Purple Cap Winner Sohail Tanvir. Since then only 2 players have won the Purple Cap title in IPL more than 1 time. And they are Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Dwayne Bravo. Bhuvneshwar Kumar got the Purple Cap in two consecutive years (2016, 2017) and Dwayne Bravo got the Purple Cap in 2013 and 2015. Check the detailed list of IPL Purple Cap Winners from 2008 to 2024 given below.

IPL Purple Cap List

22023Mohammed ShamiGujarat Giants28
32022Yuzvendra ChahalRajasthan Royals27
42021Harshal PatelRoyal Challengers Bangalore32
52020Kagiso RabadaDelhi Capitals30
62019Iman TahirChennai Super Kings26
72018Andrew TyeKins XI Punjab24
82017Bhuvneshwar KumarSunrisers Hyderabad26
92016Bhuvneshwar KumarSunrisers Hyderabad23
102015Dwayne BravoChennai Super Kings26
112014Mohit SharmaChennai Super Kings23
122013Dwayne BravoChennai Super Kings32
132012Morne MorkelDelhi Daredevils25
142011Lasith MalingaMumbai Indians28
152010Pragyan OjhaDeccan Chargers21
162009RP SinghDeccan Chargers23
172008Sohail TanvirRajasthan Royals22
Note: Out of 16 seasons of IPL, Indian Players have won the cap 7 times and rest were foreign players. And the only Indian who have won the most Purple Cap is Bhuveshwar Kumar. He has won the cap twice, one in 2016 and the other in 2017.

Teams With Most Purple Cap

TeamsIPL Purple Cap WinnersNo. of Times
Chennai Super Kings1. Imran Tahir (1)
2. Mohit Sharma (1)
3. Dwayne Bravo (2)
Rajasthan Royals1. Sohail Tanvir (1)
2. Yuzendra Chahal (1)
Deccan Chargers1. Pragyan Ojha (1)
2. RP Singh (1)
Sunrisers HyderabadBhuvneshwar Kumar2
Royal Challengers BangaloreHarshal Patel1
Mumbai IndiansLasith Malinga1
Delhi DaredevilsMorne Morkel1
Delhi CapitalsKagiso Rabada1
Gujarat GiantsMohammed Shami1
Kings XI PunjabAndrew Tye1

IPL Purple Cap Winners List with Photo

Bhuvneshwar Kumar Purple Cap (2016, 2017)

IPL Purple Cap Winner
IPL Purple Cap Winner- Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Credit- Sports360)

Bhuveshwar Kumar played his first IPL match in 2011 for Pune Warriors India. In 2013 he was bought by Sunrisers Hyderabad and since then he in the same team. He got the Purple Cap two consecutives time, in 2016 and 2017. In 2016 his total wickets were 23 and in 2017 his total wickets were 26.

Dwayne Bravo Purple Cap (2013, 2015)

IPL Purple Cap Winner
IPL Purple Cap Winner- Dwayne Bravo (Credit- The Cricketer)

Dwayne Bravo played hi debut IPL match on 2008 for Mumbai Indians. After three season in 2011 he was bought by Chennai Super Kings and since then he is the same team. He got the Purple Cap 2 times, in 2013 and 2015. In 2013 he total wickets were 32 and in 2015 his total wickets were 28.

FAQs on IPL Purple Cap Winners List

Who is the Winner of Purple Cap in IPL 2023?

The IPL Purple Cap 2023 winner was Mohammed Shami. He took 28 wickets in the entire season.

Who won the most Purple Cap in IPL history?

Two player have won the most Purple Cap in IPL. They are Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Dwayne Bravo. Both the players have won the cap two times each.

Who is the first Indian Player to win Purple Cap?

The first Indian to win IPL Purple Cap was RP Singh. He won the cap in 2009 and was playing for Deccan Chargers (currently Sunrisers Hyderabad). He total wicket in that season was 23.

Leave a Comment