Players who have played every IPL season- Explore the Details

Players who have played every IPL season: Many players have been part of the Indian Premier League. Some players took retirement, some joined the IPL midway, and some have been part of the tournament since the first season. This article will provide readers with information about the 7 players who debuted in the 2008 IPL and are still part of the tournament. Check out the details.

IPL Players From First Season Overview

Article NamePlayers who have played every IPL season
Event NameIndian Premier League
No.of Players7
Name of the Players1. MS Dhoni
2. Virat Kohli
3. Shikhar Dhawan
4. Wriddhiman Saha
5. Manish Pandey
6. Dinesh Kartik
7. Rohit Sharma

Players who have played every IPL season

The beginning of IPL saw both International and Indian players make their debut. But out of all the players only 7 Indian players have participated in all IPL editions from 2008 to 2024. We have listed the names of the players in the table below.

1MS Dhoni
2Virat Kohli
3Rohit Sharma
4Dinesh Kartik
5Shikhar Dhawan
6Manish Pandey
7Wriddhiman Saha

1. MS Dhoni

MS Dhoni
MS Dhoni (Photo Credit- TimesNow)

One of the most loved Indian player, MS Dhoni, made his debut in the 2008 IPL. He was also the most expensive player of the Chennai Super Kings, with an auction price of 6 Crore.

He has been part of the CSK team since the first season. However, due to the ban on the team for 2 years, he was sold to Rising Pune Supergiants in 2016 and 2017. But after the ban, he rejoined CSK.

He is considered to be one of the most successful captains of IPL, as under his captaincy, the CSK won 5 trophies.

2. Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli (Photo Credit- TimesNow)

The second player on the list is none other than the favourite of the majority of Indians, Virat Kohli. The Royal Challengers Team bought him in the 2008 IPL auctions for Rs 12 Lakhs.

Since then, he has been part of the team. His name comes on the list of the Top 10 most successful captains. Even though under his captaincy, the RCB team could not win a single trophy, he could win every fan’s heart with his captaincy skills.

3. Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma (Photo Credit- TimesNow)

Rohit Sharma played debut IPL match for the Deccan Chargers team from 2008 to 2010. During that time the DEC team also won the IPL title in 2009.

In 2011 auctions, he was bought by the Mumbai Indians team. In 2013, he was appointed as the captain of the team. His name also comes under the most successful captain in IPL, as after MS Dhoni, his captaincy skills helped the Mumbai Indians team win 5 IPL titles.

He is currently part of the Mumbai Indians team in IPL 2024.

4. Dinesh Kartik

Dinesh Karthik
Dinesh Karthik (Photo Credit- TimesNow)

A prominent wicket-keeper batsman for the Indian team and the IPL, Dinesh Karthik, has been involved in the tournament since the first season. He has played for multiple IPL teams.

His debut match was for the Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals) until 2010. In the 2011 IPL, he was bought by the Kings XI Punjab team. But the duration was less this time, as the Mumbai Indians signed Dinesh for two seasons (2012-2013).

Again, in 2014, he was back on the Delhi Daredevils team for one season. In 2015, he was sold to the Royal Challengers Bangalore.

In 2016 and 2017, he was part of the Gujarat Lions team. Finally, in 2018, he was brought back into the RCB team and is currently a part of the team in IPL 2024.

5. Shikhar Dhawan

Shikhar Dhawan
Shikhar Dhawan (Photo Credit- TimesNow)

The opener of the Indian cricket team, Shikhar Dhawan as known as Gabbar is playing in the Indian Premier League since the inaugural season.

His IPL debut team was Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals). For two seasons, in 2009 and 2010, he was assigned to Mumbai. In 2011 and 2012, he was assigned to Deccan Chargers, and from 2013 to 2018, he was transferred to Sunrisers Hyderabad. In 2022, he was sold to Punjab Kings, and currently, he is the captain of the team in IPL 2024.

6. Manish Pandey

Manish Pandey
Manish Pandey (Photo Credit-

The sixth player on the list is Manish Pandey. He played his inaugural match for Mumbai Indians in 2008 and played for Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2009 and 2010.

From 2011 to 2013, he was with the Pune Warriors in India. In 2015, the Kolkata Knight Riders team bought him. He was with the team until 2017.

In 2024 he rejoined KKR and is currently playing for them.

7. Wriddhiman Saha

Wriddhiman Saha
Wriddhiman Saha (Photo Credit-

The last player on the list is Wriddhiman Saha. His IPL debut was for the Kolkata Knight Riders team in 2008 until 2010. In 2011, at IPL auctions, he was bought by the Chennai Super Kings until 2013.

For the next 4 seasons, he was with the Punjab Kings until 2017. He was bought by the Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2018 until 2021. Finally, he was purchased by the Gujarat Titans in 2022 and is currently part of the team in IPL 2024.

Important Links

Indian Premier LeagueLink
Indian Premier League InstagramLink
Indian Premier League TwitterLink
World Sports GalleryLink


Who has played all IPL seasons?

There are 7 players who have played all IPL seasons. They are MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Wriddhiman Saha, Rohit Sharma, Manish Pandey, Shikhar Dhawan and Dinesh Karthik.

Leave a Comment