India Cricket Calendar 2024- List of Domestic Cricket Tournaments in India

India is a cricket enthusiast country with lakhs of cricket fans. People of every age group enjoy watching cricket. All of us know about the International matches that India play, but majority of us are not so familiar with the domestic tournaments that are held every and majority of those tournaments are gateway to the national team. No worries, in the article we have shared list of all the important domestic tournaments that is held every year.

The names of those tournaments are:

  1. Ranji Trophy
  2. Duleep Trophy
  3. Vijay Hazare Trophy
  4. Indian Premier League
  5. Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy
  6. Women’s Premier League

List of all the Domestic Cricket Tournaments

Sl. noTournamentsTimeCategory
1Ranji Trophy5 Jan-14 MarchTest Match
2Duleep TrophyJune-JulyTest Match
3Vijay Hazare TrophyNovember-December 50 overs (ODI)
4Indian Premier LeagueMarch-MayT20
5Syed Mushtaq Ali TrophyOctober-NovemberT20
6Women’s Premier League22 February-17 MarchT20
In India many domestic matches are being played, out of which 5 tournament’s listed above is seen a major part of a individual career who has a dream of playing for the National Team. Detailed information about those 8 tournaments is given below:

Ranji Trophy

The Ranji Trophy is the oldest form of domestic cricket played annually in India. It started in 1934 (1934-35 season) and is named after Ranjitsinhji, the first Indian Cricketer to play an International match against England. The upcoming season of Ranji Trophy will start from 5 January to 14 March 2024.

38 teams participate in the tournament, divided into Elite Division (4 Groups) and Plate Division. Each team plays 7 matches with all the teams present in the Group. The top 2 teams of the Plate Division are promoted to the Elite Division, and 2 teams from the bottom are demoted to the Plate Group. The winner of the Elite Division is the Winner of the Ranji Trophy.

Mumbai is the most successful team in the history of Ranji Trophy, as they have won the cup 41 times and have reached the final 46 times.

Duleep Trophy

Duleep Trophy, also known as IDFC First Bank Duleep Trophy, is an Indian first-class domestic cricket competition first played in 1961. This trophy was named after Shri Duleepsinji of Navanagar.

The game saw many changes over time. The tournament started with competition among geographical zones of India. From 2014-15, 5 main zones began regularly participating in the game. Those were the South, East, West, and Central Zone. However, from 2016 to 2020, the format was changed a bit, and only teams selected by the BCCI could participate in the tournament. Due to COVID, the game was postponed and was played again in 2023. In 2023, the format changed, and the zone system was introduced.

The most successful zone in the Duleep Trophy is West Zone, which won 19 titles, followed by South Zone(Current Champion), which has 14 titles.

Vijay Hazare Trophy

Vijay Hazare is a prestigious first-class domestic cricket competition held annually in India. It is a 50-over tournament where 38 teams participate. The first season of the Vijay Hazare Trophy was played in 1992, but there used to be zone-wise competition at that time. But in 2002, the game was taken to the national level, where teams from various states participated.

It is a round-robin and group stage game where all 38 teams are divided into 5 groups (A, B, C, D, and E). The first 3 groups include 8 teams, and the rest 2 groups include 7.

Tamil Nadu is the most successful team in Vijay Hazare as they have won 5 trophies, followed by Karnataka and Mumbai, who have won 4 times. The Vijay Hazare Trophy 2023 Winner is Haryana, who have defeated Rajasthan by 30 runs.

Indian Premier League

The Indian Premier is an annual T20 cricket league organized by the Board of Cricket Council of India (BCCI). It was first started in 2007. The duration of this tournament is between March and May every year. It is the most popular cricket league in the world.

Team lists have varied every year. For instance, eight teams were in 2008, 2009, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, and 2021. In 2010,2012 and 2013, there were 9 teams. In 2011, 2022, and 2023, there were 10 teams.

Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians have won the most IPL trophies (5 titles), followed by Kolkata Knight Riders (2 titles).

The 17th edition of IPL will be starting from March 23 till May 29, 2024. Number of teams who will participate is 10.

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy (known initially as Interstate T20 Championship) is a T20 tournament played between various states’ teams. It is organized by the Board of Cricket Council (BCCI). It was first played in 2006 and is named after Syed Mushtaq Ali. He was an Indian right-handed opening batsman who holds a record of being the first Indian to score first test century overseas.

This tournament consists of 38 teams and 5 groups named A, B, C, D, E. Group A, B, and C consist of 8 teams who play 7 matches, and Group D and E consists of 7 teams who play 8 games. Top-ranked teams from each group get promoted to the knockout stage along with the three best runners-up.

The most successful Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy team is Tamil Nadu, who have won the title 3 times. The current champion of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2023 is Punjab.

Women’s Premier League

The Women’s Premier League is a domestic cricket competition for women, like the Indian Premier League (IPL). It was first played in 2023, where teams participated. BCCI organizes it.

The winner of the first season was Mumbai Indians. The 2024 Women’s Premier League will start on 22 January (Tentative), with the same 5 teams participating. 

Leave a Comment